About Afghanistan

Afghanistan is a member of World Trade Organization, SAARC, ECO, OIC, and has an observer status in the SCO. It seeks to complete the so-called New Silk Road trade project, which is aimed to connecting South Asia with Central Asia and the Middle East. This way Afghanistan will be able to collect large fees from trade passing through the country, including from the Trans-Afghanistan Pipeline.

As part of an attempt to modernize its cities and boost the economy, a number of new high-rise buildings are under construction by various developers. Some of the national development projects include the $35 bn New Kabul City next to the capital, the Aino Mena in Kandahar, and the Ghazi Amanullah Khan City east of Jalalabad. Similar development projects are also found in Herat in the west, Mazar-e-Sharif in the north and in other cities.

Travel and tourism

Tourism in Afghanistan was at its glorious best in the 1970s. Over 90,000 tourists visited Afghanistan from all over the world to see the unique beauty of the country and experience the treat of one of the most hospitable group of people. Today, despite decades of war, Kabul remains a fascinating city that embraces both the old and the new. With the ever-increasing presence of the international community and the ongoing redevelopment projects, Kabul has been given a touch of modern architecture that gives the city hope of a peaceful and prosperous future.

Afghanistan has a history of more than six thousand years, with many historical sights and attractions, among these are the more than two thousand year old famous Buddha Statues, the tomb of Hazrate Ali (the son in law of Prophet Mohammed p.b.u.h and the fourth caliph of Islam) in Mazar-e Sharif, the beautiful city of Balkh (also known as the Mother City of all Cities), the lakes of Band-e Amir, the deep lapis lazuli blue of the waters are a shocking contrast to the plain colours of the surrounding mountains.

Afghanistan has also been of great strategic importance for invading armies, from Genghis Khan to Alexander the Great. All these armies have left astonishing trails behind, trails that have been forgotten due to decades of war but are yet to be discovered. The Government is working to rebuild the war-torn infrastructure of Afghanistan, a major project to develop transport links and a nationwide telecommunication link between Kabul and the other provinces has being established.

Furthermore, to assist the Tourism Industry of Afghanistan, the Government strongly encourages and offers its full support to the private sector to invest into the Tourism Industry. With ever increasing global tourism, the Afghan Tourist Industry has tremendous potential to become profitable. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Afghanistan is willing to support any attempt that will further develop the tourism industry of Afghanistan.

History of Afghanistan (from ancient to contemporary)

Afghanistan is located in the heart of Eurasia, and is populated by a variety of ethnic groups, including Pashtuns, Tajiks, Hazaras, Uzbeks, Turkmens, some smaller ethnic nationalities, and nomads known as “Kuchis”. Since time immemorial this country has been situated on the crossroad of cultures, between China and the Middle East, and between South Asia and Europe. When Alexander the Great entered the ancient country of Ariana – as the region in which modern Afghanistan lies was then called – he found well established cities such as Herat and Kandahar, before founding some of his own, such as that of Ai Khanoum on the Oxus (Amu Darya river).

The provinces now composing Afghanistan were important satrapies of the Achaemenid Empire. After the death of Alexander the Great, the Seleucid Empire – one of the successor states of the sprawling Macedonian empire – was centred on the city of Balkh, and Afghanistan became a political power in its own right. Since then, the city of Balkh, near modern Mazar-e Sharif, is known as “the mother of cities” (Umm al Bilad) since it has remained an important centre of learning and culture through different historical epochs. For example, the first poets of Islam, Rabi’a Balkhi, lived here, and the philosopher poet Mawlana Jalaluddin Rumi was born near Balkh, as was Ibn Sina (also known as Avicenna), one of the greatest scientists of his time.

Since Afghanistan’s economy is primarily agrarian, the country’s socio-economic activities are still centred around rural life. Although, Afghan agriculture has been improved with modern technology, no one can travel around the country without acquiring a feeling that the land and the people who work it are still in perfect harmony.

During the past fifty years, an ever-increasing number of archaeological expeditions have come to Afghanistan. As a result, the country’s heritage has become ever richer and more varied, and new discoveries are being made each year. Many of these artifacts are displayed at the Kabul Museum. As late as 1957 the world knew nothing of the existence of the Minaret of Jam - standing at the very heart of the remote province of Ghor, it is the second tallest minaret in the world.

In the 2nd century BC, the largely Zoroastrian country of Afghanistan was penetrated by a new religion, or life philosophy: Buddhism. When the ancient Indo-Aryan Hindu gods re-established their prominence in India, Afghanistan, with its famous monastic sites of Hadda (near Jalalabad), Bamiyan and others became centres of Buddhism. The world’s largest statues depicting the Buddha were hewn in the cliff of Bamiyan, from where pilgrims spread Buddhism to China, Japan and the rest of East Asia, centuries later. In the National Museum of Kabul, as well as in foreign museum collections, the magnificent art of this period, which marries Hellenic, Sassanian, Indian and nomadic Turkic styles, shows how accomplished this syncretism was. The mysterious Kushan empire reigned during this period of Afghan history (1st to 6th centuries B.C.) from its seat near Kabul.

Path to Islam:

In the 7th and 8th centuries Afghans converted to Islam, which gave rise to a new series of great dynasties: the Ghaznavids (11th to12th centuries) and the Ghorids (12th to 13th centuries) conquered vast expanses of territories stretching all the way to Delhi. At the courts of these rulers’ writers, scientists and craftsmen from all regions of Asia worked. In Ghazni, the poet Firdawsi accomplished his epic “Shahnameh” (Book of Kings), which, since then, has become the fundamental text of Persian-language culture. In the long-lost capital of the Ghorids – Firuzkoh, the “Turquoise Mountain” – the Minaret of Jam was built. It is still the highest minaret in Central Asia.

After the Mongols destroyed most of the country, the Timurids, descendants of Amir Timur (also known as Tamerlane) ruled the country (15th century) and left behind them impressive monuments such as the Great Mosque of Herat (Masjed-e Jame’ah) and the tomb of Gawhar Shad, one of the most famous Queens of Islam. Herat, then a centre of Islamic culture, became known for its poets, such as Jami, and its fine miniatures (school of Behzad).

One of the late descendants of Amir Timur, Prince Babur, fled the Uzbek invasion of Central Asia and founded his kingdom in his beloved Kabul (where his tomb still lies, in the Babur Gardens) before his descendants went on to create the great Mughal Empire in India, of which Afghanistan long remained a part. However, in this period, as the European seafarers opened the sea-route to the East, the old caravan roads became less frequented, and the geo-strategic importance of Afghanistan declined.

The formation of modern Afghanistan:

In 1747 Ahmad Shah Durrani established the country of Afghanistan in Kandahar, to guarantee the independence of Afghanistan by acclaiming sovereignty from the neighbouring powers. Since then, Afghanistan has managed to remain an independent nation. However, this became particularly difficult in the 19th century, when the European powers of England and Russia both tried to occupy this strategic territory in what became known as “the Great Game”. Afghanistan fought for its sovereignty in three Anglo-Afghan wars (1839-43, 1878-1880 and 1919) while also fending off Russian and Iranian intrigues.

The modern state of Afghanistan was created by King Abdurrahman Khan (1880-1901), who established the administrative structures which still exist today. His state-building efforts were continued by his descendants Amir Habibullah and King Amanullah, who went to considerable lengths to modernize the Afghan society and its political institutions. For example, the latter established the Prime Minister’s office, and created, among other ministries, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1922 (led by Mohammed Darwazi Badakhshani), who immediately embarked on a world tour, to see their progress.

King Amanullah himself also travelled widely through Europe and Asia, thus putting Afghanistan on the world map in the same period as when the League of Nations, for the first time in world history, brought together all independent countries of the world. King Amanullah’s efforts to modernize the Afghan society created a backlash, however, leading to his overthrow and the short reign of Habibullah Kalakani, known as King Habibullah (who reigned from February 1929 to November 1929). He, in turn, was overthrown by Nader Shah, father of the last king (and current Father of the Nation) Zaher Shah, who ascended the throne in 1933. A long period of peace followed, in which Afghanistan stayed on its course of neutrality (during World War II). During the Cold War, Afghanistan was member of the group of non-aligned nations, and received support for its development from both the Soviet Union and the United States of America.

Establishment of the republic:

In 1973, Prime Minister Daud deposed of the King, proclaimed the republic of Afghanistan and became President of the new republic. Political parties of both communist and religious convictions became more active in this period, leading to a coup of the People’s Democratic Party of Afghanistan (PDPA) led by Nur Mohammed Taraki – from the Khalqi faction of the PDPA – in 1978. The situation then quickly deteriorated: the Islamist parties inspired by the Muslim Brotherhood revolted against the communist regime, while from within the PDPA a new coup brought Hafizullah Amin – from the Parchami faction – to power, in the same year (1978). The destabilization and incipient civil war culminated in the Soviet invasion at the end of 1979 – which only worsened civil strife. The Soviets put Babrak Karmal in power (1980-1986) and brought approximately 100,000 troops to the country, to combat the growing resistance.

In 1986, after approximately 1.5 million martyrs and casualties and the exodus of 5 million Afghan refugees abroad, the Soviets were forced to retreat. Their gradual withdrawal was completed in 1989, shortly before the disintegration of the Soviet Union in 1991. Meanwhile, Mohammed Najibullah had replaced Babrak Karmal as president, and embarked on a politics of national reconciliation to end the civil war. These attempts failed, and in 1992 his regime was overthrown by the victorious mujahedeen.

End of the communist era:

Despite efforts to form a government of national unity comprising the major Islamist parties – who together elected Burhanuddin Rabbani as their first president – the parties quickly turned to violent disagreement, and the inter-factions war soon resumed, leading to greater destruction of the country and its capital Kabul. As a result, in 1996, the Taliban, a product of the active and sustained support of Pakistan and some other regional and international entities, captured Kabul and established a new regime (the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan) which imposed heavy restrictions on Afghans’ human rights, in particular those of women.

The institutions of the Afghan state, already seriously weakened by the long civil war, were further side-lined as power was removed from the ministries in Kabul, and placed with the circle of entrusted people surrounding Mullah Omar, the Taliban leader, in Kandahar. The Taliban never conquered all of Afghanistan, and the ongoing civil war, compounded by international isolation and a terrible drought, brought the Afghan people to the brink of starvation. Meanwhile, the Taliban, who also enjoyed significant support from Pakistan, harboured increasing numbers of international terrorists from countries all around the globe through the networks of Al Qaeda. Among other crimes against Afghan humanity and culture, the Taliban also destroyed the famous Buddha statues of Bamiyan in March 2001, drawing international opprobrium.

Beginning of a new era:

After Al Qaeda’s terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York and Washington on September 11, 2001, the international community, led by the United States, intervened to put an end to the rogue regime in Afghanistan. The United Nation’s Security Council passed a resolution authorizing the use of force to overthrow the Taliban. On October 7 the USA, having exhausted diplomatic means, started bombing the Taliban and supporting the resistance of the United Front (also known as the Northern Alliance) who provided the ground forces. Despite the assassination by Al Qaeda on September 9 of Commander Ahmad Shah Massud, the Front’s famous military strategist, the northern forces captured Kabul on 14 November 2001.

During the Bonn conference (December 2001) an agreement was reached to establish an interim administration led by Hamid Karzai and to station an international peace-keeping force – ISAF, the International Security Assistance Force – in Kabul. In June 2002 an Emergency “Loya Jirga” (the traditional tribal Afghan conflict-solving mechanism) was convened in Kabul to nominate a transitional government. It elected Karzai as its President.

In accordance with the road map laid out in Bonn, implemented with the support of UNAMA (United Nations Assistance Mission to Afghanistan), a Constitutional Loya Jirga approved a new constitution for the country in January 2004. It established the “Islamic Republic of Afghanistan” and restored the guarantee of human rights and adherence to democracy in the country’s founding principles. This was followed by the country’s first nationwide presidential elections in October 2004, wherein President Karzai won with an absolute majority. Parliamentary elections were held in September 2005, which led to the establishment of Afghanistan’s first democratically elected National Assembly with full legislative powers.

Информация об Афганистане

 

 


Афганистан является членом Всемирной торговой организации, СААРК, ОЭС, ОИС, ШОС. Страна стремится к реализации проекта торгового пути "Новый шелковый путь", который призван соединить Южную Азию с Центральной Азией и Ближним Востоком. Таким образом, Афганистан сможет взимать пошлины с проходящих через страну товаров, в том числе с Трансафганского трубопровода. 

Чтобы модернизровать города и придать импульс экономике различные застройщики занимаются возведением ряда новых высотных зданий в Афганистане. Некоторые из национальных проектов развития включают в себя строительство рядом со столицей Нового Кабула стоимостью 35 миллиардов долларов, Айно Мена в Кандагаре и города Гази Аманулла Хан к востоку от Джелалабада. Аналогичные проекты развития включают также модернизацию Герата на западе, Мазари-Шарифа на севере и других городов. 

Туризм

Начало 19 века было ознаменовано притоком туристов из Пенджаба, а немного позже к ним присоединились британцы, уставшие от дождей и туманов своих депрессивных островов.

Расцвет туризма в Афганистане пришелся на 1970-е годы. В конце 1970-х пограничный режим для вооружённых отдыхающих был облегчён, что позволило привлечь любителей экстремального отдыха практически со всех стран Среднего Востока. Длительные турпоходы по сельской местности Афганистана до сих пор пользуются у них такой популярностью, что заядлых путешественников легко узнать по бороде, сильно отросшей вдалеке от городских барбершопов.

Более 90 000 туристов посетили Афганистан, чтобы увидеть уникальную красоту этой страны и познакомиться с одним из самых гостеприимных народов в мире. Сегодня, несмотря на десятилетия войн, Кабул остается удивительным городом, в котором переплетается старое и новое. Благодаря постоянно растущему присутствию международного сообщества и продолжающимся проектам реконструкции, архитектура Кабула приобретает оттенок современности, что дает городу надежду на мирное будущее во имя процветания. 

История Афганистана насчитывает более 6000 лет, страна богата древними достопримечательностями, среди которых знаменитые Бамианские статуи Будды возрастом более 2000 лет, гробница Хазрата Али (зятя пророка Мухаммеда и четвертого халифа ислама) в Мазари-Шарифе, прекрасный город Балх (также известный как "Мать всех городов"), озера Банд-э-Амир, лазурно-голубая вода которых потрясающе контрастирует с пастельными оттенками окружающих гор. 

Афганистан обладал большим стратегическим значением во время военных завоеваний различных армий: от Чингисхана до Александра Македонского. Все эти армии оставили уникальное наследие - исторические следы, которые были забыты из-за десятилетий войны, но которые еще предстоит обнаружить. Правительство работает над восстановлением разрушенной войной инфраструктуры Афганистана, осуществляется крупный проект по развитию транспортных связей и общенациональной телекоммуникационной сети между Кабулом и другими провинциями. 

Кроме того, в целях поддержки туристической отрасли Правительство Афганистана всячески поощряет и предлагает широкую помощь частному сектору, который инвестирует в индустрию туризма. Во всем мире отрасль туризма развивается, и афганская туристическая отрасль обладает внушительным потенциалом в данной сфере. Министерство иностранных дел Афганистана готово поддержать любые идеи, которые будут способствовать дальнейшему развитию туристической отрасли Афганистана. 

История Афганистана: от древности к современности 

Афганистан расположен в самом центре Евразии и населен различными этническими группами, включая пуштунов, таджиков, хазарейцев, узбеков, туркменов, некоторых более мелких этнических групп и кочевников, известных как "кучи". С незапамятных времен эта страна находится на перекрестке культур, между Китаем и Ближним Востоком, между Южной Азией и Европой. Когда Александр Македонский вступил на землю древней страны Ариана - тогда так назывался регион, в котором находится современных Афганистан, - он увидел прекрасные древние города Герат и Кандагар, а затем основал собственные, например, Ай-Ханум на реке Оксус (Аму-Дарья). 

Провинции, из которых состоит современный Афганистан, были важными сатрапиями империи Ахеменидов. После смерти Александра Македонского империя Селевкидов - одно из государств-преемников обширной Македонской империи - своим центром выбрала город Балх, и Афганистан стал политически самостоятельным государством. С тех пор город Балх, расположенный недалеко от Мазари-Шарифа, известен как "Мать всех городов" (Umm al Bilad), поскольку на протяжении различных исторических эпох он оставался важным центром образования и культуры. Здесь жил первый поэт ислама Раби Балхи, неподалеку от Балха родился поэт и философ Мавлана Джалалуддин Руми, а также Ибн Сина (также известный как Авиценна) - один из величайших ученых своего времени. 

Так как Афганистан - страна с в основном аграрной экономикой, социально-экономическая деятельность страны по-прежнему сосредоточена вокруг сельской жизни. Хотя афганское сельское хозяйство и было усовершенствовано с помощью новых технологий, каждый путешественник всегда отмечает, что земля и люди, которые ее обрабатывают, все еще находятся в совершенной гармонии. 

За последнии 50 лет значительно увеличилось количество археологических экспедиций в Афганистан. В результате наследие страны становится все богаче и разнообразнее, и каждый год совершаются новые открытия. Многие экспонаты, найденные в ходе раскопок, выставлены в Кабульском музее. Еще в 1957 году мир ничего не знал о существовании минарета Джам - расположенный в самом центре провинции Гхор, это второй по высоте минарет в мире. 

Во 2 веке до нашей эры в Афганистан, который до сих пор оставался в основном зороастрийским, проникла новая религия или жизненная философия - буддизм. Когда древние индоарийские индуистские боги вновь утвердились в Индии, Афганистан и его знаменитые монастыри Хадда (близ Джелалабада), Бамиан и другие стали центрами буддизма. Самые большие в мире статуи, изображающие Будду, были высечены в скале Бамиана, откуда паломники веками позже распространили буддизм в Китай, Японию и остальную Восточную Азию. В Национальном музее Кабула, а также в зарубежных музейных коллекциях великолепное искусство этого периода, сочетающее эллинский, сасанидский, индийский и кочевой тюркский стили, показывает, насколько совершенным был этот синкретизм. В этот период афганской истории (1-6 вв. до н. э.) в своей резиденции близ Кабула царствовала таинственная Кушанская империя. 

Путь к исламу:

В 7-8 веках афганцы приняли ислам, что положило начало рождению новых великих династий: Газневиды (11-12 вв.) и Гуриды (12-13 вв.) завоевали обширные территории, простиравшиеся вплоть до Дели. При дворах этих правителей работали писателеи, ученые и ремесленники со всех регионов Азии. В Газни поэт Фирдоуси завершил свой эпос "Шахнаме" (Книга царей), который с тех пор считается основным текстом персоязычной культуры. В разрушенной в давние времена столице Гуридов Фирузкухе - "Бирюзовой горе" - был построен минарет Джама, который по-прежнему считается самым высоким минаретом в Центральной Азии. 

После того, как монголы разрушили большую часть страны, Тимуриды - потомки Амира Тимура, также известного как Тамерлан - оставили после себя впечаталяющее наследие - знаменитые памятники: Великая мечеть Герата (Масджед-и-Джамаа и гробница Гаухар Шад, одной из самых известных цариц исламского мира. Герат, в то время центр исламской культуры, прославился благодаря поэтам, таким как Джами, а также школам миниатюр, например, школа Бехзада. 

Один из последних потомков Амира Тимура, принц Бабур, бежал от узбекского вторжения в Среднюю Азию, где в прекрасном Кабуле основал свое царство. Могила Бабура до сих пор находится в Кабуле, в садах, названных его именем. Затем его потомки продолжили создавать империю Великих Моголов в Индии, частью которой долгое время оставался и Афганистан. Однако в тот период европейские мореплаватели открыли морской путь на Восток, старые караванные пути утратили былую популярность, и геостратегическое значение Афганистана снизилось. 

Формирование современного Афганистана: 

В 1747 году Ахмад-шах Дуррани в Кандагаре основал независимый Афганистан и провозгласил суверенитет страны. С тех пор Афганистану удалось сохранить свою независимость. Однако в 19 веке европейские державы, в частности Англия и Россия, попытались занять территорию Афганистана в так называемой "Большой игре" и тем самым лишить страну независимости. Афганистан боролся за своей суверенитет в трех англо-афганских войнах (1839-1843; 1878-1880: 1919 гг). одновременно отражая нападки России и Ирана. 

Современное государство Афганистан было создано королем Абдуррахман-ханом (1880-1901), при котором были основаны административные структуры, существующие до сих пор. Его политика государственного строительства была продолжена потомками Амиром Хабибуллой и королем Амануллой, которые приложили значительные усилия для модернизации афганского общества и его политических институтов. Король Аманулла, к примеру, учредил канцелярию премьер-министра, а также создал в числе других министерств Министерство иностранных дел в 1922 году (во главе с Мохаммедом Дарвази Бадахшани), который вскоре отправился с визитами по всему миру, чтобы представить новый Афганистан. 

Король Аманулла и сам много путешествовал по Европе и Азии, представляя новый Афганистан мировому сообществу в то время, когда впервые в мировой истории Лига Наций объединила все независимые страны мира. Однако усилия короля Амануллы по модернизации афганского общества встретили вызвали и негативную реакцию некоторых слоев населения, что привело к его свержению и короткому периоду правления Хабибуллы Калакани, известного как король Хабибулла, правивший с февраля 1929 г. по ноябрь 1929 г. Он, в свою очередь, был свергнут Надер-шахом, отцом последнего короля (Отца нации) Захер-шаха, который взошел на трон в 1933 г. Последовал долгий период мира, в течение которого Афганистан придерживался политики нейтралитета (так же во время Второй мировой войны). Во времена Холодной войны Афганистан был членом движения неприсоединения и получал поддержку как от Советского Союза, так и от Соединенных Штатов Америки. 

Создание республики:

В 1973 году премьер-министр Дауд сверг короля, провозгласил Афганистан республикой и стал ее президентом. В этот период активизировались политические партии как коммунистических, так и религиозных вглядов, что привело в 1978 году к перевороту под предводительством Народно-демократичесокй партии Афганистана (НДПА) во главе с Нур Мухаммедом Тараки из фракции Хальк. Вскоре ситуация ухудшилась: в 1978 году произошел новый переворот, в результате которого к власти пришел Хафизулла Амин из фракции Парчам. Дестабилизация ситуации и начавшаяся гражданская война привели к введению советских войск в конце 1979 года, что только усугубило положение. Благодаря поддержке советской власти главой Афганистана стал Бабрак Кармаль (1980-1986 гг.), для борьбы с растущим сопротивлением в страну также были введены войска численность около 100 000 человек. 

К 1986 году количество жертв исчислялось 1,5 миллионами, еще 5 миллионов афганцев стали беженцами. Советскому союзу пришлось отступить: постепенный вывод войск был завершен к 1989 году, незадолго до распада СССР в 1991 году. Тем временем на посту президента на смену Бабраку Кармалю пришел Мохаммед Наджибулла, который начал политику национального примирения, чтобы положить конец гражданской войне. Эта политика не увенчалась успехом, и в 1992 году Наджибулла был свергнут режимом моджахедов. 

Конец эпохи коммунизма:

Несмотря на усилия по формированию правительства национального единства с участием представителей исламистских партий - которые вместе избрали Бурхануддина Раббани своим первым президентом - вскоре возникли серьезные разногласия между сторонами и возобнавилась межфракционная борьба, что привело к еще большему разрушению страны и ее столицы Кабула. В результате при активной поддержке Пакистана и некоторых других региональных и международных сил в 1996 году движение Талибан захватило Кабул и установило новый режим - Исламский эмират Афганистан. Были введены жесткие ограничения прав человека, особенно женщин. 

Влияние институтов афганского государства, и без того серьезно подорванное длительной гражданской войной, ослабло еще больше, поскольку минисерства больше не могли выполнять свои функции, исполнение которых перешло кругу доверенных лиц муллы Омара - лидера Талибов, расположившегося в Кандагаре. Талибам не удалось захватить всю территорию Афганистана, а продолжающаяся война, усугубленная международной изоляцией и ужасной засухой, поставила афганский народ на грань голода. Тем временем талибы, пользуясь значительной поддержкой Пакистана, укрывали все большее число международных террористов из разных стран мира из сети "Аль-Каиды". Вдобавок к другим преступлениям против афганского наследея и культуры в 2001 году талибы также уничтожили знаменитые статуи Будды в Бамиане, чем вызвали осуждение всего мира. 

Начало новой эры: 

После террористических атак "Аль-Каиды" на Всемирный торговый центр в Нью-Йорке и Вашингтоне 11 сентября 2001 года международное сообщество во главе с США решило вмешаться в ситуацию в Афганистане, чтобы положить конец преступному режиму. Совет Безопасности ООН принял резолюцию, разрешающую применение силы для свержения талибов. 7 октября США, исчерпав дипломатические средства, стали наносить бомбовые удары и оказывать поддержку сопротивлению Объединенного фронта, также известного как Северный альянс, который обеспечивал деятельность сухопутных войск. Несмотря на убийство Аль-Каидой 9 сентября командующего Ахмад Шаха Масуда, известного военного стратега Объединенного фронта, силы сопротивления захватили Кабул 14 ноября 2001 года. 

В ходе Боннской конференции (декабрь 2011 года) было достигнуто соглашение о создании временной администрации во главе с Хамидом Карзаем и размещении в Кабуле международных сил по поддержанию мира - Международных сил содействия безопасности. В июне 2002 года в Кабуле было созвано внеочередное заседание "Лойи Джирги" (традиционного племенного афганского механизма урегулирования конфликтов) для назначения переходного правительства. В ходе заседания президентом был избран Карзай. 

В соответствии с выработанной в Бонне дорожной картой и при содействии Миссии ООН по содействию Афганистану в январе 2004 года Конституционная Лойя Джирга утвердила новую конституцию страны. Конституция провозгласила создание "Исламской Республики Афганистан" и восстановила гарантии прав человека и приверженность демократии в основополагающих принципах страны. Затем в октябре 2004 года состоялись первые общенациональные президентские выборы, на который абсолютным большинством голосов президентом был избран Хамид Карзай. В сентябре 2005 года были проведены парламентские выборы, по итогам которых в Афганистане впервые была демократически избрана Национальная ассамблея, за которой закреплялись законодательные полномочия.